skip to Main Content

Tourism Awards of Excellence Winners 2019

Toronto, Ontario – On October 30, 2019, the Tourism Industry Association of Ontario (TIAO) hosted the annual Ontario Tourism Awards of Excellence at Blue Mountain Resort. Many winners were announced including some prominent people and associations that are a part of the Attractions Ontario family.

Attraction of the Year Science North
Accessible Tourism Award CN Tower
Tourism Marketing Campaign Over $50K Where Can WE Take You (Tourism Windsor Essex Pelee Island)
Lifetime Achievement Award Guy Lamarche, Tourism Timmins & Ian McMillan, Tourism Northern Ontario
Tourism Champion of the Year Phil Casey, Attractions Ontario

The Lifetime Achievement Award, nominated and bestowed to Guy Lamarche and Ian McMillan – two long-standing Board Members of Attractions Ontario could not be more well-deserved. “These two men have individually done so much for tourism; collectively they have been dynamos.  Both deserve the honour; it is only fitting that they get to share the stage together and be recognized for their contributions,” says Troy Young, CEO, Attractions Ontario.

The Tourism Champion of the Year was doubly special as it was awarded to our very own Phil Casey. The Director of Business Development, Phil Casey is the heart and soul of Attractions Ontario, and it was a true honour to see his merits rewarded. “I can think of no single person in tourism in Ontario that means as much to their organization as Phil does for Attractions Ontario. Not only does he through his tireless efforts make connections with the industry that contribute to our organization’s financial success, he is the glue that keeps the staff of Attractions Ontario together,” says Troy Young, CEO, Attractions Ontario

The Tourism Awards of Excellence aims to celebrate the best of the best, and this year was one for the books. Thank you to TIAO and all of our colleagues in tourism for their contributions and devotion to this incredible industry.

Attractions Ontario is a non-profit association, dedicated solely to optimizing attendance for their member attractions.  As the only province-wide trade association dedicated exclusively to the attractions sector of the tourism industry, Attractions Ontario members encompass over 500 public and privately-owned attractions in numerous categories such as amusement parks, historical sites, cultural activities, arts & entertainment and adventure tourism. 




Guy Lamarche, Tourism Timmins (Attractions Ontario Board Member) and his lovely wife Nicole moments after receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award


Phil Casey (Director of Business Development for Attractions Ontario – woohoo!) receiving Tourism Champion of the Year Award


Tourism Windsor Essex Pelee Island (and Board Member Lynnette Bain) receiving Award for Tourism Marketing Campaign Over $50K


CN Tower (also board member Krista Kalbfleisch) receiving Accessible Tourism Award

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back To Top
×Close search