The 1000 Islands History Museum provides the visitor with an inviting setting to reflect on the history of the area. The building is reminiscent of the original islands cottages and fabulous hotels that were built during the Golden Era.
The site on which the Museum now stands was originally the main station for the Thousand Islands Railway. After passenger service ended in 1962, the station, owned by the Town of Gananoque, became a restaurant but was destroyed by fire in 1990.
Arthur Child, who grew up in Gananoque, wanted to ensure the preservation of the rich history of the Thousand Islands region. His ideas and generous donation, together with the Town’s land, Municipal, Federal and Provincial Government funding as well as additional private and corporate donations, brought about the construction of the 1000 Islands History Museum, formerly known as the Arthur Child Heritage Museum, the centrepiece of the Historic Thousand Islands Village complex. The Town of Gananoque continues to own the building but the museum is operated and governed as a registered non-profit charitable organization by a volunteer Board of Directors.
The 1000 Islands History Museum invites residents and visitors to celebrate the natural and cultural history of the 1000 Islands region. We welcome over 30,000 local, regional, and international visitors annually to enjoy this popular waterfront attraction.
May 3rd – September 1st: 10 – 5 pm
September 2nd – November 10th: 11 – 4 pm
November 14th – December 22nd: 10 – 3 pm (Wednesday to Saturday)
* Tours are available by appointment during the off season.
Admission to the museum is by donation. We also offer memberships.
Self Guided or Guided tours available. Groups and individuals welcome. Fully guided pre-booked tours: $3.50 per person. Information about boat cruises that stop at the museum can be found at: St. Lawrence Cruise Lines
This building is wheelchair accessible to all areas excluding the tower.