There are three main components to the Northern Ontario Railroad Museum and Heritage Centre:
The first is the Victorian style house originally built in 1916. It is now the home of numerous exhibits which pay tribute to the region’s rich lumber, mining and railroading heritage. The building aslo houses the museum’s gift shop, washroom facilities and quaint tea room serving refreshments during the summer months.
Prescott Park, located in behind the museum house is home to lush gardens, a railway themed playground, the museum’s very own garden train as well as a very unique collection of rolling stock. There are picnic tables on site for visitors wishing to bring their own lunch.
The former Capreol Municipal Building was once home to the Capreol Fire and Police departments. Located steps from the museum, the building showcases a variety of exhibits which reflect on the region’s social heritage and the early history of the town. The Heritage Centre is also home to a model railroad and a locomotive simulator.